Parenting 101

We will have to tackle it sooner or later. The question of how we, her village, intend raising, disciplining, moulding this child. My parents have their own fixed view on discipline. As do nana and the aunts and uncles. 

One thing me and Mo agree on, is a ban on corporal punishment as a form of discipline. Our approach is to use empathy and understanding. So if she has a meltdown in the mall, get down to her level and say “Awwwwww. I can see you’re really frustrated. You really want that toy, huh?! That’s okay. Would you like a cuddle?” Or something along those lines.

Perhaps, prevention is better than cure, in that case. Maybe she’s overstimulated from the long shopping expedition. Or tired. Or even hungry. I figure that if we utilise empathy, we will be able to pick up on her cues, and in that way, avoid disaster.

I have never been in such a situation before. And I cannot say for sure, how I’d react. But I hope that I will be intuitive to her situation, not bothered by bystanders opinions on my parenting style and able to resolve the issue amicably. 

This post is by no means a judgment on any one individual’s parenting style. We all have to be flexible and do the best we can within a given situation. I am in no position to judge the next mom!

I cannot control when and where she might decide to throw a tantrum. I can only control how I will respond. So I have to make sure that, at all times, I am balanced, not hungry, angry or tired myself, and thus able to handle the situation from the best possible vantage point. And maybe, perhaps, avoid dragging her along on marathon shopping expeditions. 🤔🤣

To each his, or her, own.

Cheers

Author: Candice Nolan

Storyteller. Seeker. Spudcaster.

Leave a comment